Projects / prj-shenyang-nhr200-2001

Shenyang 2 x 200 MW nuclear heating project (NHR200-I, 2001)

Historical heat-only proposal. INET's NHR200 page states that the Shenyang 2 x 200 MW nuclear heating project received state approval of its project proposal in April 2001; no later construction or licensing evidence was found in the regulator's 2018 to 2026 document lists, and earlier lists were not read. The site within Shenyang and the project's final disposition are not established, and the record rests on a single developer source. Two 200 MWt heating reactors are the described configuration; no plant total is stored. The NHR-200 heating reactor design is documented in IAEA-TECDOC-965 among small reactor designs (the document behind the Daqing NHR-200 record), and INET describes its successor NHR200-II as a small modular reactor; that documented design identity, with the named host city and dated state approval, is the historical basis for inclusion. No design profile is linked because INET's page describes the NHR200 family without a profile document.

What this record says

Site and deployment

Shenyang 2 x 200 MW nuclear heating project (NHR200-I, 2001) is recorded at Shenyang (site not stated), Liaoning, China. Operator: No operator is recorded. Vendor or developer: No vendor is recorded. Stage: Announced. Location precision: undisclosed.

Capacity

This project is recorded as thermal only (no MWe). Modules planned: 2. Thermal output is not recorded on this project.

Permission recorded

Latest supported development

Apr 2001 · actual · month: INET states the 2 x 200 MW project proposal received state approval in April 2001. (Recorded development)

Next documented milestone

No next milestone date is recorded.

Material unknowns

Stage
Announced
Design
Design profile not linked (SMR)
Technology
Not selected · unknown
Operator(s)
—
Vendor(s)
—
Location
Shenyang (site not stated) · China · precision: undisclosed
INET names the host city only; no parcel is published and no pin is shown.
Coordinates
undisclosed / not plotted
Electrical capacity
thermal only (no MWe) · scope: plant
Thermal capacity
Not recorded
Modules planned
2
Inclusion basis
historical_smr_program
Confidence
low
Last verified
2026-10-06 (publication/verification date)

Milestones & dated events

Regulatory actions

Sources