Policy and licensing / Virginia
Virginia: SMR policy and licensing
Selected federal measures and selected state measures whose official text was opened. This is not a complete list of laws, rules or programmes for any jurisdiction. A state without a page here is not a finding that it has no policy, and these pages do not rate or prefer any state. Nothing here implies that a project is eligible for, or approved under, any measure.
Federal measures apply in Virginia as everywhere in the United States and are listed once on the federal page. They are not counted here.
Laws, rules and executive directives
- Virginia § 56-585.1:14: Phase II small modular reactor development-cost recovery · In effect
Va. Code § 56-585.1:14 (2024 Acts, c. 789; SB 454) · Virginia General Assembly · affects: Utility cost recovery
Virginia approved Chapter 789 on 17 April 2024. It allows a Phase II utility to seek recovery of development costs for one small modular reactor facility, with a 500-megawatt nameplate definition and a $1.40 residential cap. The act expires on 31 December 2029. It does not license or approve a reactor.
Not approved or pending: No Commission rate-adjustment order was opened. The act preserves the Commission's authority to approve or deny a petition. The chapter does not state a separate day on which it took effect. A Virginia location does not make a tracked project eligible. - Virginia § 56-585.1:15: Phase I small modular nuclear facility development-cost recovery · In effect
Va. Code § 56-585.1:15 (2024 Acts, c. 836) · Virginia General Assembly · affects: Utility cost recovery
Virginia approved Chapter 836 on 17 April 2024. It allows a Phase I utility to seek recovery of development costs for a small modular nuclear facility, using a 500-megawatt definition that is separate from the Phase II section. Annual recovery is capped at $25 million and overall recovery at $125 million excluding the site. The act expires on 1 July 2034 and does not approve a reactor.
Not approved or pending: No Commission order approving a rate-adjustment clause or a facility was opened. The earliest implementation date of 1 January 2026 is not evidence that a clause exists. The chapter does not state a separate day on which it took effect. No project is named.
Bills, proposed rules and consultations
- None recorded in this pilot.
Funding and support programmes
- None recorded in this pilot.
NRC permissions and applications for tracked projects located in Virginia
Listed by project location only. The Virginia measures above do not license reactors; the NRC does.
- None recorded.